The Division of Medical Physics at CancerCare Manitoba is unique in Canada in that it covers all aspects of cancer control: medical devices, nuclear electronics, radiation protection, imaging physics, and radiotherapy physics.

Each of these services plays a unique and important role in supporting the broad Provincial Cancer Control mandate of CancerCare Manitoba. Operating within a matrix structure, Medical Physics staff work together with other departments within CancerCare Manitoba as well as with external organizations such as the University of Manitoba and the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority to play key roles in support of the provincial: Radiation Therapy Program, Radiology Program, Radiation Protection Program and Radiosurgical Program.

In addition to these clinical programs we also have an active Medical Physics Research Program and support both undergraduate and graduate training programs:

Typical of the services provided by the Imaging Physics staff is the commissioning and accreditation of imaging equipment while the Radiation Protection Service regulates x-ray equipment in health care, academic facilities and industry. Nuclear Electronics provides full support for equipment maintenance and servicing to the CCMB Radiotherapy Program and the WRHA Nuclear Medicine Programs and our ISO 9001 accredited Medical Devices Service manufactures high-quality products for our use as well as for other health care facilities. Radiation Therapy Physicists and Physics Associates ensure that Radiation Therapy is optimally delivered while staff in all services support our research and training programs.

Follow the links on the left for more information on the services offered and programs supported by the Division of Medical Physics.

For more information about Medical Physics, visit the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists or visit our career page if you are interested in a career as a Medical Physicist in Manitoba.

Contact Us

Medical Physics
Room ON2118
675 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3E 0V9
Phone: 204-787-4145
Fax: 204-775-1684

Dept. Head, Medical Physics - Imaging & Radiation Protection:
Ingvar Fife, Ph.D.

Dept. Head, Medical Physics  - Radiotherapy Physics:
Boyd McCurdy, Ph.D., FCCPM
204- 787-1966

Section Head, Medical Physics - Radiotherapy Physics:
Anita Berndt, Ph.D., FCCPM

Administration and Support:
Phone: 204-787-4148
Fax: 204-775-1684